Skip Global Navigation to Main Content
Skip Breadcrumb Navigation
Visa Waiver Program

The Visa Waiver Program (VWP) enables citizens of participating countries to travel to the U.S. for tourism, business or transiting the U.S. for 90 days or less without obtaining a U.S. visa. There are currently 36 countries participating in the Visa Waiver Program.

Some applicants may qualify for ESTA (Electronic System for travel authorization). ESTA is an automated system that determines the eligibility of visitors to travel to the U.S. under the Visa Waiver Program (VWP). Authorization via ESTA does not determine whether a traveler is admissible to the United States. U.S. Customs and Border Protection officers determine admissibility upon travelers’ arrival. The ESTA application collects biographic information and answers to VWP eligibility questions.  Click here for more information and how to apply for this program.

Frequently Asked about ESTA (Electronic System for travel authorization), click here 

Important Notice: The failure to determine your eligibility for travel under the Visa Waiver Program may result in you being denied the opportunity to travel to the United States.

Frequently Asked Questions about the Visa Waiver Program - Visit the Bureau of Consular Affairs web site.

Adobe Reader

  • Adobe Reader

    Download Free

    All downloadable documents on this page are provided in PDF format. To view PDFs you must have a copy of Adobe Acrobat Reader. You may download a free version by clicking the link above.